Champions League Men

Champions League draw: Many clashes without secrets

The draw for both, TTCLM and ECLW quarter-finals, held today, December 16th


The draw for the both, 2019/20 TTCLM and ECLW quarter-finals, held today in Luxembourg, set up several clashes without secrets. Linz AG Froschberg and Metz TT will create unique record, as they meet fourth time in last five knockout stages of European Champions League Women.


Regarding Table Tennis Champions League Men, Group A winner and reigning champion Fakel-Gazprom Orenburg (Russia, no. 1 seed) is going to play against former quarter-finalist, GV Hennebont TT (France, no. 8). These two teams played in same group last year and five-times TTCLM champion was better in both games.


Two German clubs will decide one semi-finalist, as 2019 quarter-finalist Post SV Muhlhausen (no. 5 seed) faces 2011/12 TTCLM semi-finalist FC Saarbrucken TT (no. 3). Saarbrucken won all six group stage matches.


Former quarter-finalist Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki (Poland, no. 7) will play against actual TTCLM runner-up UMMC (Russia, no. 6). Russian side enters knockout phase as one of four unbeaten teams.


The 2017/18 TTCLM quarter-finalist, Roskilde Bordtennis BTK 61 (Denmark, no. 4) challenges TTCLM record holder, 11-times winner Borussia Dusseldorf (Germany, no. 2 seed). These two clubs shared group in the 2017/18 edition, when German team won both encounters.


The 2019/20 ECLW quarter-finals will see another chapter in a rivalry between former two-time ECLW champion Linz AG Froschberg (no. 2 seed) and 2017/18 Europe Cup winner Metz TT (France, no. 10). It will be a fourth knockout clash between these two teams in last five seasons. Austrian team won previous three meetings, each time in the quarter-final stage. First one, 2015/16, has been decided by just one-point difference – 5:5 in matches (19:19 sets, 347:346 points), while the second one, in 2016/17, Linz won 6-2 on aggregate. Austrian team eliminated Metz in 2018/19 quarter-finals, after two 3:2 wins.


Reigning ECLW champion KTS Enea Siarka Tarnobrzeg (Poland, no. 3 seed) faces last year’s ECLW quarter-finalist SKST Stavoimpex Hodonin (Czech Republic, no. 5).


Four-times ECLW champion TTC Berlin Eastside (Germany, no. 1 seed) is going to play against 2015/16 ECLW semi-finalist and 2018/19 Europe Cup winner, UCAM Cartagena TM (Spain, no. 7). Berlin beat twice Spanish side last year in a group stage.


Three-times in a row ECLW quarter-finalist in the last four seasons, TT Saint-Quentinois (France, no. 4) will meet ECLW newcomer GIRBAU VIC TT (Spain, no. 11).


Second placed clubs in group stage will play first leg (10-12. Jan) as host sides. Second games are schedulled for February 14-16th.


2019/20 TTCLM quarter final


GV Hennebont TT (FRA) - Fakel Gazprom Orenburg (RUS)

Post SV Muhlhausen 1951 e.V. (GER) – FC Saarbrucken TT (GER)

K.S. Dartom Bogoria Grodzisk Mazowiecki (POL) - TTSC UMMC (RUS)

Roskilde Bordtennis BTK61 (DEN) – Borussia Dusseldorf (GER)


2019/20 ECLW quarter final


UCAM Cartagena TM (ESP) - TTC Berlin Eastside (GER)

SKST Stavoimpex Hodonin (CZE) – KTS Enea Siarka Tarnobrzeg (POL)

Girbau-Vic TT (ESP) - TT Saint Quentinois (FRA)

Metz TT (FRA) – Linz AG Froschberg (AUT)

Ettu Partners