European Olympic Singles Qualification | 17 Apr 2024

Sarajevo will Host European Olympic Singles Qualification with 90 Players Vying for Paris 2024 Spots

Sarajevo, Bosnia-Herzegovina, is set to host the 2024 European Olympic Singles Qualification from 15th to 19th May. A total of 90 players have confirmed their participation, comprising 44 women and 46 men.

Of the six continental quotas allocated to Europe, five will be determined through this tournament, while the sixth will be decided based on rankings as of 11th June 2024.

Seeding and Group Distribution

Players will be seeded based on the ITTF World Rankings from week 20, which will be published on 14th May 2024. In the Women's Event, the 44 players will be divided into 12 groups: eight groups of four players and four groups of three players. Players from the same National Olympic Committee (NOC) will be placed in different groups.

The top two finishers from each group will advance to Stage 2, where 24 players will compete.

Similarly, in the Men's Event, the 46 players will be split into 12 groups: ten groups of four players and two groups of three players. As with the women's event, players from the same NOC will be distributed across different groups. The top two from each group will move on to Stage 2.

Competition Format

Both the Men’s and Women’s Singles events will follow the same format from Stage 2 onwards. Stage 2 will feature a direct knockout draw spanning four rounds, taking place on Friday, 17th, and Saturday, 18th May in the morning.

The finalists from Stage 2 will automatically secure spots at the 2024 Paris Olympic Games, with no final match played.

Stage 3 will consist of five rounds of knockout matches. This stage will feature players who did not qualify from Stage 2. The two finalists from Stage 3, along with the winner of the match between the semi-final losers, will also earn places at the Paris Olympics. Again, no final match will be played.

Stage 3 matches are scheduled for Saturday, 18th, and Sunday, 19th May.

Please see the System of play, Entries list and Schedule here