Champions League Women | 5 Apr 2023

KTS Enea Siarkopol Tarnobrzeg crowned champions for a third time

Poland’s KTS Enea Siarkopol Tarnobrzeg defended their title in the Champions League Women and for a third time in four years they won the trophy. In the final, they overcame French Metz TT in both legs and both times the duels ended in three straight matches.

In the return leg HAN Ying, YANG Xiaoxin and Elizabeta SAMARA justified their status and overcame Adina DIACONU, Mariia TAILAKOVA and Pauline CHASSELIN. In the opening leg YU Fu was played at the position no. 3.

“We are so happy that we won this trophy. I think it is the result not on only of us being a good as a team, but also of us being good friends and supporting each other. Despite what result predicts this match was harder then the opening leg, because we were under pressure not to make mistake. Metz played much more relaxed. Unfortunately we do not have a lot of time to celebrate, tomorrow we have to travel to China to Champions,” said HAN Ying.

Elizabeta will be at the same plane, so nothing of long celebration tonight.

“Not that we defended our title but we also proved as a best team in Europe by finishing this season unbeaten. We didn't not lose single match. That is really nice feeling and we are very happy.'

What stands behind this success?

“We have a rule, and that rule is made by us – girls. Each has to pick and to win one match. And we follow that rule. It is not easy, the pressure is high, now I am really tired but also happy I maintained my mental stability and we proved our worth. Speaking of celebration, we will do it next month, after China, Macao and BANKOK,” added SAMARA.

KTS Enea Siarkopol Tarnobrzeg - Metz TT 3:0

HAN Ying - Adina DIACONU 3:0 (11:6, 11:8, 11:9)

YANG Xiaoxin - Mariia TAILAKOVA 3:1 (11;2, 15:13, 7:11, 11;70

Elizabeta SAMARA - Pauline CHASSELIN 3;0 (11:7, 11:8, 11:8)