European Championships | 22 Mar 2023

Wins for Czechia and Poland in the last round

Photo: Courtesy Jaroslav Odstrcilik / Czech Table Tennis Association

In the last round of the Stage one of the European Championships, Czechia beat Slovakia in Group A5, whilst in group prevailed against A2

In Group A5, both Czechia and Slovakia secured their places in the Final stage of the European Championships in Malmo and today’s match only resolved uncertainty about who will finish the opening stage at the top of the standings. With three wins out of four matches it is Czechia. They lost only against Slovakia in the opening leg 2:3.

Slovakia managed to win two matches and concluded Stage one at second position. Italy is third with one win out of four matches.

Tonight David REITSPIES won both his matches; he beat Jakub ZELINKA and WANG Yang.

"After Jiří MARTINKO lost to Alexander VALUCH, it was not easy to turn the match around. But David REITŠPIES played excellently. He had a greater desire to win the match against WANG Yang. He played excellent tactically and deservedly won. He already played very well against him in the first match in Bratislava. But he lost there. Now David made us all happy. Coach Slovakia surprised us a bit with the lineup, but our players managed it.", said Czech coach Josef PLACHÝ.

In Group A2 Poland recorded first victory. They accounted for Portugal in Vila Nova de Gaia. However it did not change the positions at the standings and the list of the teams for Malmo. Denmark is topping the standings with three wins and one defeat and Portugal is qualified for the final stage as a second in the group with two wins and two defeats.  

Czechia – Slovakia 3:2

Pavel SIRUCEK - WANG Yang 0:3 (8:11, 8:11, 10:12)

David REITSPIES - Jakub ZELINKA 3:0 (12:10, 11:3, 11:4)

Jiri MARTINKO - Alexander VALUCH 1:3 (7:11, 10:12, 11:8, 6:11)

Pavel SIRUCEK - Jakub ZELINKA 3:0 (11:4, 11:8, 12:10)

David REITSPIES - WANG Yang 3:1 (11:5, 11:8, 5:11, 11:7)

Portugal – Poland 1:3

LI Tiago - Milosz REDZIMSKI 2:3 (11:9, 5:11, 7:11, 11:8, 5:11)

Goncalo GOMES - Maciej KUBIK 2:3 (11:4, 7:11, 7:11, 11:9, 12:14)

Tiago ABIODUN - Artur GRELA 3:1 (11:9, 5:11, 11:7, 11:6)

Diogo SILVA - Maciej KUBIK 1:3 (8:11, 7:11, 11:8, 8:11)