Timo BOLL and Bernadette SZOCS leading names in Minsk

The 2019 European Games to be held in Minsk, Belarus from 21st to 30th June (table tennis June 22-29)


Timo BOLL of Germany and Bernadette SOZCS of Romania top the seeding lists announced prior to the 2019 European Games to be held in Minsk, Belarus, from 21st to 30th June. Tennis Olympic Center, with a capacity of 1,000 seats, will host five table tennis events, from 22nd to 29th June. A total 122 players will compete for the spot at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics: three medallists in the men's and women's singles events will secure their places, while the gold medallists in the men's and women's team events and mixed doubles event will get an Olympic quota. That’s why all best European players will travel to Minsk.


Seven-time European champion Timo BOLL tops Men’s seeding list at the 2nd European Games, followed by Sweden ’s Matias FALCK (no. 2) and 2015 European Games winner, Germany’s Dimitrij OVTCHAROV (no. 3). Liam PITCHFORD of England, man who beat MA Long last year at Czech Open, is no. 4 seed, while host nation legend Vladimir SAMSONOV, 2015 European Games bronze medallist, is posted at no. 5. Other top 8 names on the seeding list are 6 Simon GAUZY (France), 7 Kristian KARLSSON (Sweden) and 8 Daniel HABESOHN (Austria).


The 2018 winner and 2019 runner-up of European Top 16, Bernadette SZOCS of Romania is no. 1 seed in the Women’s Singles event, followed by Austria’s Sofia POLCANOVA (no. 2), bronze medallist of the 2019 Europe Top 16 in Montreaux. Other six Top 8 players are following: 2018 European Championships Women’s Doubles bronze medallist Matilda EKHOLM (no. 3, Sweden), 2019 Europe Top 16 champion Petrissa SOLJA (no. 4, Germany), 2015 European champion Elizabeta SAMARA (no. 5, Romania), EKHOLM’s doubles partner Georgina POTA (no. 6, Hungary), 2015 European Games runner-up LI Jie (no. 7, Netherlands) and 2016 European Championships runner-up FU Yu (no. 8, Portugal),


Top seeding list (best 16), Men:


1 Timo BOLL (Germany), 2 Matias FALCK (Sweden), 3 Dimitrij OVTCHAROV (Germany), 4 Liam PITCHFORD (England), 5 Vladimir SAMSONOV (Belarus), 6 Simon GAUZY (France), 7 Kristian KARLSSON (Sweden), 8 Daniel HABESOHN (Austria), 9 Emmanuel LEBESSON (France), 10 Jonathan GROTH (Denmark), 11 Marcos FREITAS (Portugal), 12 Tomislav PUCAR (Croatia), 13 Tiago APOLONIA (Portugal), 14 Cedric NUYTINCK (Belgium), 15 Darko JORGIC (Slovenia), 16 Alvaro ROBLES MARTINEZ (Spain).


Top seeding list (best 16), Women:


1 Bernadette SZOCS (Romania), 2 Sofia POLCANOVA (Austria), 3 Matilda EKHOLM (Sweden), 4 Petrissa SOLJA (Germany), 5 Elizabeta SAMARA (Romania), 6 Georgina POTA (Hungary), 7 LI Jie (Netherlands), 8 FU Yu (Portugal), 9 Britt EERLAND (Netherlands), 10 Margaryta PESOTSKA (Ukraine), 11 Barbora BALAZOVA (Slovakia), 12 Polina MIKHAILOVA (Russia), 13 HAN Ying (Germany), 14 LI Qian (Poland), 15 NI Xia Lian (Luxembourg), 16 Hana MATELOVA (Czech Republic).

Ettu Partners