Ettu Logo Ittf Logo
Other Events - 7 Jan 2018

Borussia Dusseldorf clinched 26th German Cup

Photo: BeLa Sportfoto

Borussia Dusseldorf clinched the title in German Cup again. In front of nearly 3,900 spectators in the sold-out Arena Ulm / Neu-Ulm, the team led by Timo BOLL secured the title for the sixth time in a row in the 2017/18 LIEBHERR Cup final. In a reissue of last year's final, the 1. FC Saarbrücken TT was beaten again. It is 26th Cup for the club in history.


The dominance of the champions and record cup winners Borussia Dusseldorf will remain unbroken for the time being in 2018. The Liebherr Cup final 2017/18 was nothing more than a demonstration of power of the winners.


Borussia’s coach Danny HEISTER said:"If you see that we won 3-0 twice today, you have to say that we played a huge final. We were prepared well. Therefore, I am very proud of my team and overjoyed about the title."


The way to the title, however, was much more difficult than the results suggest, "but today we have survived every tough situation," said BOLL.

FRANZISKA forced Kristian KARLSSON to go full distance. Franziska was also aware of the importance of his game. "I knew that I needed to win against Kristian so we could have a chance," said the 25-year-old. "It became so much more difficult against Timo."

 At the final press conference Nico STEHLE, Managing Director of the Table Tennis Bundesliga (TTBL), drew a very positive conclusion. "We can look back on an absolutely successful event in which we set a new visitor record with around 3,900 spectators. A big thank you to our numerous partners and the staff of Ulm arena, where we find the perfect conditions for world-class table tennis year after year, as we have seen again today. "


Semi final

Borussia Düsseldorf – SV Werder Bremen 3:0

Timo BOLL – Hunor SZÖCS 3:0 (11:7, 11:6, 11:7)

Anton KÄLLBERG – Bastian STEGER 3:2 (11:9, 5:11, 11:8, 9:11, 11:9)

Kristian KARLSSON – Omar ASSAR 3:2 (11:5, 11:4, 10:12, 10:12, 11:9)



  1. FC Saarbrücken TT – TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen 3:1

Tiago APOLONIA – Jakub DYJAS 3:2 (14:12, 9:11, 6:11, 11:9, 11:7)

Patrick FRANZISKA – Hugo CALDERANO 3:1 (11:8, 11:9, 6:11, 11:7)

Patrick BAUM – Yuto MURAMATSU 1:3 (11:13 8:11, 13:11, 9:11)

Tiago APOLONIA – Hugo CALDERANO 3:1 (12:10, 5:11, 12:10, 11:8)




  1. FC Saarbrücken TT – Borussia Düsseldorf 0:3

Patrick FRANZISKA – Kristian KARLSSON 2:3 (9:11, 12:10, 4:11, 11:9, 11:8)

Tiago APOLONIA – Timo BOLL 1:3 (11:5, 9:11, 3:11, 8:11)

Patrick BAUM – Anton KÄLLBERG 0:3 (3:11, 8:11, 4:11)


Upcoming Events » show all

2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019

Social Stream

ETTU Partners