Ettu Logo Ittf Logo
European Championships - 13 Sep 2017

Luxembourg will deliver 15 more WTTC qualifiers

Photo: ITTF

After the 2016 World Team Championships in Kuala Lumpur, 22 men’s and 18 women’s teams qualified for the 2018 edition for Team’s in Sweden’s city of Halmstad. Among the men’s teams already qualified from Europe are England, Sweden, Portugal, France, Croatia, Austria, Poland, Germany, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Russia, Italy, Denmark, Romania, Belarus, Greece, Serbia, Belgium, Spain, Luxembourg, Slovakia and Slovenia. For the Women’s event, already qualified are Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Ukraine, Romania, Hungary, Belarus, Czech republic, Poland, France, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Croatia, Switzerland, Luxembourg, Serbia, and Portugal.


Nine additional European Continental teams can claim their places in both the Men’s and Women’s events in Halmstad through the LIEBHERR 2017 ITTF European Championships here in Luxembourg this week. However, this number is reduced because Slovakia and Slovenia in Men’s and Portugal in Women’s Event are playing in the Championships Division and they are automatically the first ones of the teams not yet qualified. That leaves 7 empty spaces in Men’s and 8 in Women’s waiting to qualify in Luxembourg.


In the current playing system used this week in Luxembourg, teams are divided in three divisions. In the Championship Division there are 16 qualified teams. The first round has 4 groups with 4 teams in each group. The groups play round robin format where every team plays each other. Stage 2 takes the Teams finishing either first or second in their group into the quarter final stage. Teams finishing in third and fourth places in their groups compete for positions 9 to 16. Quarter finals onwards is knock-out and there isn’t a play off for third place for losing semi-finalists.


We look forward to discovering who are new Champions will be, and to confirm who will qualify for the LIEBHERR 2018 World Championships in Halmstad.



Upcoming Events » show all

2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019
2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019

Social Stream

ETTU Partners