Ettu Logo Ittf Logo
World Championships - 31 May 2017

Thomas WEIKERT has been elected President of the ITTF

Photo: courtesy DTTB

LIEBHERR 2017 World Championships


Thomas WEIKERT (GER) has been elected as the ITTF President by the ITTF Annual General Meeting (AGM) today in Dusseldorf, Germany.


The incumbent President WEIKERT from Germany defeated Belgium's Jean-Michel SAIVE 118 votes to 90 to extend his time as ITTF President for another four years.


"I am very happy today. I was confident that I am going to win, because my team was confident. I have to thank a DTTB President and General Secretary for a great support. Despite enormous task and challenge to organise such big event their help was vital," said President WEIKERT." Immediately after the election, Jean-Michel SAIVE congratulated me and I respect that gesture, as much as I respected him as a player."


Thomas WEIKERT, who was appointed President in 2014 when then President Adham SHARARA stepped down stated: "I would like to thank my team for all the support they have given me since becoming President. Thank you to all the National Associations for their confidence in me to continue as President. I promise to keep giving my best to push the sport to new heights and achieve all my goals stated in my manifesto."


The 55-year-old German will be joined on the ITTF Executive Committee by:

Shi Zhihao (CHN)

Masahiro Maehara (JPN)

Petra Sorling (SWE)

Nestor TENCA

Bruce Burton (CAN)





Upcoming Events » show all

2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019
2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019

Social Stream

ETTU Partners