Ettu Logo Ittf Logo
Champions League Women - 12 May 2017

TTC Berlin Eastside continues its reign in the ECLW

Photo: Courtesy TTC Berlin Eastside

Second leg of the 2016/17 ECLW final: Berlin – Tarnobrzeg 3:1 (1st leg 2:3). SHAN Xiaona secured two point against LI Qian and HAN Ying


TTC Berlin Eastside continues as ECLW champion, thanks to 3:1 win against KTS Sairka ZOT Tarnobrzeg in the returning final game held tonight in Berlin. These two teams met in the 2015/16 final when German side won with a 6-2 in aggregate score.


Polish champion won first game 3:2 five days ago, when LI Qian took two points. But, tonight SHAN Xiaona got revenge on her in the opening clash. Moreover, host dominated all the time, starting each set with huge advantage: 7:1 in 1st, 6:1 in 2nd, 7:0 in 3rd. LI had no solutions for vigorous attacks of SHAN.


HAN Ying leveled the score, as she defeated again Petrissa SOLJA. It was the copy of their clash in Poland, when HAN won in straight games. After 9:9 in the opening set, SOLJA won just five points in the rest of the game.


Georgina POTA repeated her score (3:0) against Viktoria PAVLOVICH, winning once again in straight games. Host concluded the clash by seven consecutive points (4:4, 11:4) to seal her best ever ECLW season, with 11-1 individual score.


SHAN and HAN were again required to play fourth match and again Berlin`s best player was better. It was culmination of entire season with several breathtaking moments. Guest started convincingly, winning easily first set, but missed huge opportunity in the second one: SHAN played very brave faced with her two set balls and reversed the score from 8:10 to 12:10.


HAN didn’t let SHAN easy points. She was faced with two-point deficit in the late fourth game (6:8) but won it thanks to her amazing defensive skills. Ultimate chapter belonged to SHAN who showed nice variety of attacks, pushing guest away from the table. Host made a crucial step forward when she took three consecutive points in late fifth set (6:3, 9:3).


Berlin won its fourth title in last six seasons: 2012, 2014, 2016, 2017. Irina PALINA`s side became just second club who managed to win back-to-back titles after Sterilgarda Castelgoffredo did it in 2006 and 2007.


The 2016/17 ECLW final, 2nd leg


TTC Berlin Eastside – KTS Sairka ZOT Tarnobrzeg 3:1 (1st leg 2:3)


SHAN Xiaona – LI Qian 3:0 (11:8, 11:5, 11:2)

Petrissa SOLJA– HAN Ying 0:3 (9:11, 1:11, 4:11)

Georgina POTA – Viktoria PAVLOVICH 3:0 (11:7, 11:6, 11:4)

SHAN Xiaona – HAN Ying 3:2 (5:11, 12:10, 11:6, 9:11, 11:4)

Upcoming Events » show all

2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019
2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019

Social Stream

ETTU Partners