Ettu Logo Ittf Logo
Member Associations - 7 Mar 2017

Gavin RUMGAY collected his 12th national title

Scottish National Championships


Gavin RUMGAY collected his 12th national title and Lynda FLAWS her 3rd and her 1st since 2013.


Gavin RUMGAY produced a commanding performance as he secured a record-equalling 12th national singles title at Bell’s Sports Centre, Perth. After the dramas of the 2016 final, he produced a more relaxed performance this year.


The absence of several leading players (Craig HOWIESON, Kenny LINDSAY & Chris MAIN) and an uneven draw meant that there was plenty scope for some surprise results and players reaching further than might normally be expected.


Lynda FLAWS won the women’s singles event as she swept through her final three matches. The performance of young Faye LEGGETT was arguably the standout feature of the event.


Lynda was happy with the way she recovered after being caught slightly cold by Faye in her 1st match of the day and playing ‘far too passively’. Faye’s backhand attack was the dominant feature of her 3-2 win. The loss meant that Lynda had to battle through the tougher side of the draw: having to beat reigning champion Rebecca PLAISTOW (5, 7, 8) and Gillian EDWARDS.




Men's Singles

Winner        Gavin Rumgay

Runner Up      Richard Main

Semi Finalist   Calum Main

Semi Finalist   Scott Barton


Woman's Singles

Winner       Lynda Flaws

Runner Up      Faye Leggett

Semi Finalist   Gillian Edwards

Semi Finalist   Alisa Khalid


Men's Doubles

Winners      Calum Main & Sean Doherty

Runners Up     Gavin Rumgay & Niall Cameron


Woman's Doubles

Winners           Rebecca Plaistow & Lynda Flaws

Runners Up     Lara Stirling & Rachel Crawford


Mixed Doubles

Winners      Colin Dalgleish & Rebecca Plaistow

Runners Up     Niall Cameron & Gillian Edwards


Junior Boys

Winner       Yaser Razouk

Runner Up      Calum Morrison


Junior Girls

Winner        Rebecca Plaistow

Runner Up      Faye Leggett


Cadet Boys

Winner     Dylan Curry

Runner Up      Danny Bajwa


Cadet Girls

Winner                        Faye Leggett

Runner Up      Tessa Yau


Minor Boys

Winner       Yifei Fang

Runner Up      Borui Chen


Minor Girls

Winner           Willow Shek

Runner Up      Jessica Hogg


Junior Boys Doubles

Winners           Calum Morrison & Keir Morton

Runners Up     Chris Wheeler & Yaser Razouk


Junior Girls Doubles

Winners           Alisa Khalid & Rebecca Plaistow

Runners Up     Jennie Yang & Hannah Robb



Upcoming Events » show all

2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019
2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019

Social Stream

ETTU Partners