Ettu Logo Ittf Logo
European Championships - 12 Jul 2017

Two most recent men's Champions will play in Group B in Luxembourg

The Draw of the LIEBHERR 2017 ITTF European Table Tennis Championships


Austria (2015 champion) and Portugal (2014 winner) will share Men's Group B in the LIEBHERR 2017 ITTF European Table Tennis Championships. That was the outcome of the Draw held today in Luxembourg, host country of the event scheduled for September 13th to 17th. Luxembourg's top women's player NI Xia Lian carried out the gripping draw of the teams for the Championship, the Challenge and Standard Divisions.


The „referee“ of the Team Event, Stuart SHERLOCK (ENG), was in charge of the draw in Luxembourg-Kirchberg; he was assisted by the Belgian ETTU Competition Manager Didier LEROY, the Norwegian President of the ETTU Technical Committee, Oivind ERIKSEN, and Event Manager Jean-Marie LINSTER from Luxembourg.


Regarding Draw for the Men's event, reigning champion Austria will face 2014 winner Portugal, Slovenia and Slovakia. Six times consecutive champion Germany, actual runner-up, will play in Group A beside 2015 bronze medalist Belarus, Croatia and Spain.


The German ladies, title-holders since the previous event, will meet Hungary, Sweden and Croatia in a group. NI Xia Lian, the present number 57 in the world ranking, was not lucky in the draw for her team. The hosts will face Romania, the Czech Republic and the Netherlands. Luxembourg men’s team, seeded in the Championship Division will compete against Sweden, Greece and Russia.


In the Championship and Challenge Divisions each team plays each other team in each of the 4 groups, which entails 3 matches per team in the best-of-five system. At the end of this group phase, the first and second placed will go to the quarter finals and play by k.o. for places 1 to 8, while the third and fourth placed compete for positions 9 to 16. In the Challenge Division the first and second placed compete for positions 17 to 24, whereas the third and fourth place vie for positions 25 to 32. In the Standard Division all matches will be played starting with position 33.


WOMEN`S DRAW: 38 teams in total


Women`s Championships Division

GROUP A: Germany, Hungary, Sweden, Croatia

GROUP B: Romania, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Luxembourg

GROUP C: Austria, Portugal, Ukraine, Spain

GROUP D: Poland, Russia, France, Belarus


Women`s Challenge Division

GROUP E: Slovak Republic, Lithuania, Switzerland, Finland

GROUP F: Serbia, Belgium, Italy, Denmark

GROUP G: Turkey, Wales, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria

GROUP D: England, Slovenia, Greece, Israeli


Women`s Standard Division

GROUP I: Norway, Estonia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Latvia, Scotland, Macedonia


MEN`S DRAW: 42 teams in total


Men`s Championships Division

GROUP A: Germany, Croatia, Spain, Belarus

GROUP B: Portugal, Austria, Slovenia, Slovak Republic

GROUP C: Sweden, Greece, Russia, Luxembourg

GROUP D: France, Romania, Poland, Ukraine


Men`s Challenge Division

GROUP E: England, Denmark, Netherlands, Ireland

GROUP F: Czech Republic, Turkey, Bulgaria, Switzerland

GROUP G: Hungary, Belgium, Finland, Estonia

GROUP H: Italy, Serbia, Israeli, Lithuania


Men`s Standard Division


GROUP I: Latvia, Norway, Azerbaijan, Montenegro, Cyprus

GROUP J: Scotland, Wales, Kosovo, Bosnia Herzegovina, Macedonia


Upcoming Events » show all

2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019
2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019

Social Stream

ETTU Partners