Ettu Logo Ittf Logo
Champions League Women - 26 Apr 2016

ECLW final: Zamek tests Berlin`s invincibility

Photo: Courtesy ITTF

The first final leg will be held on April 29th, Polish champion hosts the best German club (18:00 CET)


Two best clubs in the European Champions League Women are going to decide the winner for the 2015/16 season, as the second seed Zamek Tarnobrzeg hosts the no. 1 seed TTC Berlin Eastside this Friday (18:00 CET) in the first final leg. It will be the clash between actual ETTU Cup winner and two times ECLW champion (German side lifted the trophy in 2012 and 2014).


Concerning the ongoing season, both sides deserved to be in the ultimate chapter. Zamek successfully passed the tough group (D), finishing ahead of double ECLW winner Linz AG Froschberg. In the quarter-finals, the best Polish club eliminated the reigning ECLW champion Fenerbahce, while in the semis they overcame UCAM Cartagena. Zamek approaches to the final with the 6-2 score (21-14). They lost to Lille Metropole in Group D and home encounter to Fenerbahce in the knockout phase.


German champion is unique unbeaten team so far. They have a perfect 8-0 score (24-6). In the Group A they lost just one individual game (SOLJA against Saint Quentin’s Ran LI KATH). Berlin prevailed against the 2012 ECLW runner-up SVNO STROCK in the quarter-finals, but their biggest challenge was the semi-final duel with Linz (3:2 away, 3:1 home).


Concerning individual achievements, Berlin`s SHAN Xiaona has the best record so far 10-1 (30-9). Other players have two or more defeats, Berlin - Georgina POTA 7-2 (22-9), Petrissa SOLJA 6-3 (20-11), Yui HAMAMOTO 1-0 (3-2), Zamek - HAN Ying 11-5 (39-19), Natalia PARTYKA 4-5 (21-19), LI Qian 6-4 (22-13).


ITTF ranking also confirms strength of the finalists, gathering six Top 50 players; Zamek Tarnobrzeg – HAN Ying (no. 9), LI Qian (no. 28), Natalia PARTYKA (no. 76); Berlin Eastside - Petrissa SOLJA (no. 13), SHAN Xiaona (no. 18), Georgina POTA (no. 39), Yui HAMAMOTO (no. 49).


German champion will fight for its third ECLW crown, while the best Polish club plays its very first final.

Upcoming Events » show all

2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Women's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019
2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 2018/2019 Men's ETTU Cup 29 Sep 2018 - 12 May 2019

Social Stream

ETTU Partners